I want to run fast again

20 Apr

***I’m typing this while on my migraine meds… you’ve been warned…

Once upon a time, I ran my fastest 10k in 52 mins.  At the time, I didn’t realize these were some quick miles for my short little legs.  I also hit 2:04 in my first 1/2 marathon.  Again, I didn’t recognize this was a decent time.

Right now, I’m lucky to hit somewhere in the 11 min mile range.  This doesn’t account for my walk breaks, which then throws me into the 12 min pace.  I would NEVER discourage anyone else for these times – I would say WAY TO GO!  And I am working on the self-talk to be encouraging, so instead of “why can’t I run faster??” I keep reminding myself, “hey!  you’re out there!”.  But still… I want to be faster.

This requires some effort on my part.  You know, like some speedwork?  Maybe something to increase my endurance?  Frankly, just putting in the miles.  It’s how I did it the first time and it’s how I will do it again.  But I’m impatient and I want those paces back NOW!

truth sister

Speaking of hitting goals, I fell short of my 37.5 miles by 8.  Improvement from the week before, so I will take it.  Yesterday I could have hit a few more – in fact, I was dressed and OUTSIDE.  I walked 1/2 a mile and knew I was done.  All day yesterday I was feeling nauseated and I thought fresh air and movement could help.  It didn’t.  I had a work event later and the moment I sat down for it, the pain hit right above my right eye.  Migraine-ville.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get my special meds into me until 2 hours later so I missed heading it off before it got worse.  I don’t know about other migraine-suffers, but for me, it’s hurts when I shut my eyes.  This morning I woke up and thought I was in the clear but not so much.  I took some regular headache meds, but by noon, it was time for another dose of my special meds with a naproxen booster (recommended by the doc).  Currently, I’m a bit woozy (meds) but at least my eye balls aren’t falling out, I’m not throwing up and the top of my head isn’t caving in.

Okay, done whining.  Yes, I get sick a lot.  I really believe stress is a major factor in all of this.  Thankfully, this is the first migraine I’ve had in months.  I attribute this to giving up the gluten.  My sister has had similar benefits.  I also know the more running I do, the more my health will continue to improve.

Back to running – my runs included a 4.5 miler, a 4 miler and a 6 mile walk.  The other miles were walking as well.  Looking at this, I can see why I’m not getting faster and am lacking endurance!  It’s always weird to type it out and realize where there is room for improvement.  No running today… I’ve still got my eye on that 37.5 mile weekly goal though.  I refuse to give up since I know it will feel oh so fabulous when I hit it!

Are you good at positive self-talk?

Do you get migraines?  Any magical remedies?

5 Responses to “I want to run fast again”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle April 20, 2015 at 4:21 pm #

    ha, I JUST posted about speed!!!! I suffered from migraines for years. Cutting out the majority of my caffeine and chocolate really helped, as well as removing a lot of the negative BS from my life. Praying you feel better soon!!!! xo

  2. jackieoutrunning April 20, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

    I know how you feel! I want to be as fast as I was a few years ago.

  3. Brittany April 20, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    I go through phases of wanting to be “faster” and then I usually settle back into being content with my average pace. My fastest half marathon was 2:09 and I’m OK with that for now. ;)

  4. Jane April 21, 2015 at 1:07 am #

    I want to be faster too! But my plan right now is to run a smart marathon (and hopefully PR by a lot) so I am focusing on being consistent. Hopefully the plan works!

  5. Fallon @ Slacker Runner April 21, 2015 at 1:52 am #

    I miss speed. Last year I thought I was slow but after the past months of being sick, I wish I could get back to where I was then. I have moments but there are not common. One day!! As for migraines, I usually rely on ice packs. I’ve never found a med that worked.

Leave a Reply

