snow, running and pride – two of these are great

27 Apr

Last Wednesday it started snowing.

I absolutely get that I live in MI and this isn’t really abnormal per say.  However, I think this is the latest in the season it has snowed for as long as I’ve lived here.  That’s 13 years folks.  I’ve seen snow around the beginning of April and it always cracks me up.  Now, I’m getting a bit salty – pull it together Mother Nature!

On Tuesday I jumped into running clothes as soon as I got home.  I could feel myself slipping into the Tuesday slump like the previous two weeks and I was determined NOT to let it happen again.  It was close though.  I cleared off my treadmill and got 3 miles in of walk/run intervals.  I made the running minutes longer and increased the speed as well.  I was surprised I was able to (mostly) keep this up – when I first pushed the buttons, I was certain I wouldn’t last throughout the work out.  It was a good boost of confidence.  I did have to walk a couple of extra intervals but the pride was still there.

even Chuck is proud of me

Wednesday was a working late-I’m so exhausted-please don’t make me move kind of day.  I got some extra walking in but that was it.  No running.  I briefly considered it and then I decided Simon needed some snuggling instead.

Now, Thursday… Thursday was a GREAT running day.  Once again there was some snow lazily falling – it was taunting all of us.  Those snowflakes were serious jerks.  I had to work late again but came home and went straight to the treadmill for more walk/run intervals.  Get this:  I hit every interval!  I’m not sure I’ve ever, ever, ever done this.  I kept the same increase in time and speed as I did on Tuesday and I still didn’t give up on myself.  It was close a couple of times (I seriously need to believe in myself a bit more) but I kept pushing.  I was/am so excited!

My right calf got kind of tight during this run so I tried to get some good stretching in, hit the compression socks and rolled it out.  Friday it was still a bit sore so I walked a lot and doing some calf-raises seemed to help.  Friday I went for a 4 mile run – outside even!  The temps are back to a more acceptable level.  Truth:  this run SUCKED.  I half walked/ran the first two miles and then pulled it together for the last two.  I was pretty close to vomiting in the streets those first two miles.  I’ve done this before and am not a fan so I slowed to a walk to avoid it.

Saturday I was beyond exhausted and walked as much as possible but that was it.  Last night I went for a 4.5 mile walk, which was decent but nothing to go into further detail about.  I got 32.5 miles in for the week – yay!  Only 5 miles off of my goal.  The interesting piece, is I’m being a smart runner and not increasing my mileage ridiculously each week – not on purpose, mind you.  It’s been a decent progression so even though I am aiming higher, somehow I’ve reached responsible status.  I have no idea where this came from but it is radical.

8 Responses to “snow, running and pride – two of these are great”

  1. Jane April 28, 2015 at 1:30 am #

    I would have slowed to a crawl if I thought I was going to puke, so good on you for at least walking!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 30, 2015 at 5:00 pm #

      Thanks – I wanted to just sit down but was also afraid I wouldn’t get back up!

  2. piratebobcat April 28, 2015 at 7:43 pm #

    Your goal was to run 37.5 miles? That’s an odd number. haha! But I cannot believe it’s still snowing there!!! That is nuts. Way to get out there tho!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 30, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

      Yes, our weather has been unkind lately. I also really like odd numbers of miles! I was trying to hit 150 for the month so this worked out for me!

  3. Fallon @ Slacker Runner April 29, 2015 at 2:02 am #

    32 miles is awesome! Snow! Seriously? It’s almost May! I totally get not wanting to be sick, walking is always the better option. :)

  4. Change of Pace April 29, 2015 at 3:39 pm #

    I agree with Fallon. 32 miles is awesome! And even if it’s unintentional, so much better to increase slowly!
    We haven’t had snow in ages, which is rare in Alberta! Some years we still get it well into May!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 30, 2015 at 5:02 pm #

      Thanks! I *think* we are done with the snow but it was a low of 35* this morning so I’m not holding my breath. Let me know if you get it in May! We can commiserate!

Leave a Reply

