self-destructo

19 May

Yesterday I attempted to write a post but things were not going well.

It was an emotional day.  There were a few reasons that I won’t bore you with and great scott, I was a bit of a disaster.  Anyway, the whole post started to sound like one giant whiny mess.  So I hit delete.

Last week was okay in the work out department.  Certainly not great and it was yet another reminder I need to kick my own ass into gear.  I can’t wait for someone to do it for me.  And even if they attempted I can picture myself rebelling against them.  Example:  If Jillian Michael’s was my trainer I would want to high tail it out of there.  Then purposefully eat donuts.  In my sweatpants while binging on Netflix.  Self-destructo right here.

Anyway, do you also remember when I told Spring to get it together?  What was I thinking?!  We had some toasty, humid days and I came to my senses that 50’s in May ARE FREAKING AWESOME when you are a runner.  Saturday morning I ventured out for a quick run before traveling to visit friends.  It very quickly turned into a run/walk scenario.  It was gross.  Last night?  Same deal.  I will also admit, I’m a complete dodo bird.  I didn’t bring water with me on either run.  I know, just plain silly.  I’ve been carrying my phone with me (it’s in an otterbox case and won’t fit in anything I currently have) so carrying water is a bit tough.  Today I finally ordered an arm band on amazon.  I thought long and hard about the flip belt and even ordered one.  I don’t think it’s for me though.

There was some other exercising last week but nothing of note.  I’m trying a little something this week but before I go into detail I want to see if I accomplish it.  This past weekend I ventured down to visit some dear friends.  We haven’t been together as a group in ages so it was wonderful to catch up on all the happenings of life.  All three of them have little ones so I got in some toddler and baby snuggles.

friends!!!!!

friends!!!!!

Scary moment on the way down there – a semi decided to move into my lane right in front of me.  I was boxed in on either side by other cars so I had to hit the breaks.  I despise driving on the freeway.  I have no idea where this defensive driving business came from and I was extremely proud of myself.  When I arrived at my friend’s house, I had a delayed panic attack.  Haha, at least it wasn’t while I was driving!

The next morning we went to this cutie-patootie cafe for breakfast.  It had all kinds of accommodating foods and I even got gluten-free toast with my omelet!  I’m still thinking about that bread, man.

Alright, this is the end of my post.  I’m debating running tonight.  We shall see how motivated I am after I go to the grocery store.

Does anyone else have their motivation crushed by the grocery store like I do?

6 Responses to “self-destructo”

  1. Brittany May 19, 2015 at 10:57 pm #

    My motivation gets crushed by the store only when I purchase something I cannot wait to eat, and then I’m just too full to run.

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 29, 2015 at 1:36 pm #

      Haha, I do this too! Or I’m so hungry that I can’t wait for the delish meal to be finished cooking so I sub it for something else. I’m weird.

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner May 20, 2015 at 1:03 am #

    I can’t stand the grocery store which is why I do 85% of my shopping at Target, but that’s kind of sad in itself. I have a flipbelt and I loved it for a while but I wear my belts way too low for it to work out permanently. Which was a bummer because I loved the idea of it. Netflix, donuts and sweatpants sounds kind of awesome right now. :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 29, 2015 at 1:35 pm #

      I love doing my shopping at Target – it’s closer and I find it calmer than the other grocery stores in the area. If I had a TJ’s I would be all over it.

  3. Jane May 21, 2015 at 1:29 am #

    I have a spi belt that I don’t hate — but clearly don’t love either! I like the arm band better — most of the time. Clearly I am all over the place.

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 29, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

      I am too – but I do this with all kinds of running gear. I exchange so much, I think retailers have my name red-flagged!

Leave a Reply

