ummm… running is hard

26 May

I’ve been silent on this here site for the last week.  There were a number of reasons and now I’m ready to jump back into the writing deal.  I do enjoy it so.

Last week, I ran on Monday.  I really believed it would be a good run.  It wasn’t.  It dampened my spirits a bit as I had high hopes.  Then I took a minor hiatus until Saturday where I walk/ran (mostly walked) 7.5 miles.  It was hot.  It was hard.  The walk/run combo was for the first mile and after that I just decided to put in the mileage in the form of walking.  This was because the running part so completely sucked that I couldn’t stand it.  Yep, the whole 4 day off deal didn’t help, nor did the hanging out on my buns prior to getting outside but still, I thought it would be easier.The walk was challenging as I made sure to hit some really steep hills to make up for the lack of running.  Sunday, I was fairly certain, was going to be easier.  After all, I got the “first day back” lazy legs out of the way so I was set.  Hmm – not so much.  At this point, I admitted to myself that running is just hard.

I’ve spent some time romanticizing my past running abilities.  In my brain, I envision a gazelle-like state; regularly running around without a care in the world because it was easy.  Clearly, my imagination is vivid and totally inaccurate!  When I turn off the filter, I can remember how hard those runs were – it just doesn’t feel like it now when I have to walk up yet another hill.  I also find there are times when I’m bored but I think this is related to the constant thought in my brain, “this is hard, this is hard, this is hard”.

Anyway, Sunday was a 5 miler and again not pretty.  But since the above conversation was going on in my head, I started saying, “tomorrow will be easier”.  Monday, I hit the pavement again.  Not exactly easier.  My legs felt lead-like.  I walk/ran 3.5 miles and I dare say, I ran more than I walked.  Hooray.  Using my keen over-analyzing abilities, I recognize dehydration is playing a role in these disappointing runs.  My handheld pulls on my (sort of still) dislocated thumb so I leave it home thinking I’ve been drinking enough during the day to get me through.  I love denial!

I decided to give the RW Run Streak a shot.  My runs will only get better and legs stronger if I add a heaping helping of consistency into the mix.  I have no idea if I will follow through on it – I’ve tried before.  But it’s an interesting challenge and even if I don’t make it everyday, it will still help.  Tonight I will only run a mile and then do a strength video.  I’m going to get swoll.

7 Responses to “ummm… running is hard”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle May 26, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

    Those tough runs make us all that much stronger, I’m told!!! Keep your chin up!! xoxo

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner May 27, 2015 at 1:46 am #

    Awww, that lovely Runner’s World streak. The only thing I have succeeded at is not running on day 1 or 2. :) Good luck!

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 29, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Haha! I know, it always sounds awesome and then the “I don’t wanna” part of me kicks in. We’ll see – I totally took all of the pressure off and am just going to enjoy it.

  3. Brittany May 28, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    Whenever I get in my head too much about my runs, they suffer.

    Please get swoll by lifting cats and post a video haha.

  4. Jill June 3, 2015 at 9:38 am #

    “I’ve spent some time romanticizing my past running abilities.” Hah. YEARS I have wasted with this. [sigh]

Leave a Reply

