ham… my triumphant return to the blog world

4 Oct

It’s been positively ages since I last wrote – in fact, almost 3 months.  This is the longest I’ve ever gone since I started this puppy and I’ve really missed it.  I’ve actually been writing posts in my head all of this time but committing the words to “paper” seems to be alluding me.  I’ll get into that more in the future.  Right now, I want to focus on HAM.

can you feel the excitement building?!

Why?  Because I adore ham.  It all started about approximately 7 months ago (It’s nutty it’s been this long).  I found some sliced ham at Costco that wasn’t deli meat.  I hate deli meat.  A year ago, while I was doing the Whole 30, I got some deli turkey to make some roll-ups.  I took a bite and suddenly I realized it was very slimy.  I was done.

I found the good stuff much more appealing.  Whenever I’m home and we cook a ham for dinner, I always look forward to the next morning for “ham on toast”.  Sliced cold ham on warm toast?  A divine breakfast!  So, I started making this in the mornings.  This went on for a month, however I was finding I didn’t have enough time in the mornings and I missed my gluten free oats.  Hence, I decided a ham sandwich for lunch.  A star was born.

I’m thankful for ham on a daily basis

Now, I’ve had a ham sandwich for lunch every week day and sometimes on the weekend for 5 or so months.  I get excited about this sandwich on a daily basis.  It keeps me full for a long time and recently I added some “calci-YUM!” (cheese) and now I’m in ham sandwich heaven.  It’s a solid choice friends.

Do you have a food obsession that you just don’t feel complete without?!

Why am I writing about ham?  Because I talk about it all.the.time.  Officemate asked if I’d shared the word with all of you and I realized I was keeping this magical secret.  My ham sandwich gives me energy, allows for some down time in my apartment from the chaos of work and I don’t spend the rest of the afternoon searching for things to eat because I didn’t eat enough at lunch.  Not to mention, I don’t have to make any decisions – another perk.

I was a bit crushed when I walked into Costco a month or so ago and get this – NO HAM.  I talked with a Costco employee and they thought it would come in another shipment.  I went back two days later – NO HAM.  I wrote a comment card.  The next week, again the lack of ham and it was starting to worry me.  I had officially run out of the good stuff.  I wrote another comment card followed by a tweet.  I didn’t hear from Costco.  Alas, I’m not a fair weather fan of the place but I was disappointed.  Anyway, I dabbled in some other options but it just wasn’t good enough.   Thankfully, a coworker came through with the suggestion of Boar’s Head and I found local deli that has it.  My triumphant return to a tasty ham sandwich has returned – and not a moment too soon.

a ham celebration was in order

Then there are the blueberries.  Another obsession.  Blueberries are my after 4 pm snack and again, I can’t get enough of them.  I know they are going out of season and the price is increasing each time I go to the store but I can’t give up these little gems of goodness.  Thankfully Costco came through for me on this one with some bigger quantities or else I would be running to the store every other day.

turning blue is a an almost certain reality for me at this point in time

So there it is.  My first post in three months and it’s about ham and blueberries.  I’ve got more posts up my sleeve.  In these last three months, I’ve run a 5k/10k double, a 1/2, went to France, signed up for a marathon, went to New York, ran a couple of other races, bought a shiny new computer, and worked my ass off for more hours than I care to count.  Oh and made some giant life decisions.  But today?  It’s ham and blueberries.

6 Responses to “ham… my triumphant return to the blog world”

  1. Rob October 4, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    I know I am old and out of touch, but as I read your post (while watching football), I looked up at the TV and saw the words “Got Ham,” and then realized it was an ad for Gotham. Hope you are doing well, and maybe see you at the Campus Classic!

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 30, 2015 at 12:25 pm #

      HA! I love this! You not getting old – I’m just that powerful of an influence ;) Sorry I missed you at the Classic. I had to walk it since my knee is is less than pleased. Hope you had a good race!

  2. veryrach October 5, 2015 at 11:51 am #

    Boar’s Head is the beeeeessssssttttttt! Da’BEST! yum.

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 30, 2015 at 12:23 pm #

      Haha, it is soo tasty! Costco did help me out and brought back their ham. I’m still on the fence as to which one is better!

  3. Fallon @ Slacker Runner October 6, 2015 at 2:20 am #

    Welcome back! This post just made me hungry. :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 30, 2015 at 12:24 pm #

      Thanks! It’s good to be back, even if I am slowly easing into it. And yes, every time I think of ham, I get hungry :)

Leave a Reply

