bird legs and feet are the best

6 Nov

The other day I was walking across campus and I saw these adorable little bird footprints in the cement.  “Awww, so cute!”  I talk to myself out loud, regardless of my location.

I absolutely adore little bird feet and legs!

Suddenly the image popped in my head of a bird mafia.  What if this poor bird was forced to walk through the cement by the mafia bird thugs so then he/she would have some “cement shoes”?!  Poor little birdie.  Then I decided he/she is happily sporting some schmancy new kicks and all of the other birds are jealous.  A much happier and more likely scenario.

Tuesday morning, I started having a panic attack.  I haven’t had one in a couple of months and it took me by complete surprise.  I was in a meeting so I couldn’t excuse myself but I was able to use the tapping technique on the side of my palm to help manage it, without calling attention to my distress.  Below is a video of one of my favorite tutorials.  My hypnotherapist introduced it to me to the technique and I watched this when I was first learning.

With the tapping technique you are supposed to hit a couple of acupuncture points, however even simply tapping the side of my palm under the table help to ward off the worst of it.  I strongly recommend looking into it if you have moments of panic.  It isn’t just for people with anxiety either.

Long ago, I mentioned I was doing the Run the Edge 2,015 miles in 2015 challenge.

2,015 miles in 2015

a lofty goal for sure!

I didn’t decide to do it until mid January, so I stared out behind.  I should have calculated the miles per day much earlier so even when I was hitting decent mileage, I was still behind. I started getting irked with myself because I knew making the deadline was iffy but I already ordered the medal.  Cue GUILT.  Earlier this week the challenge organizers sent an email that medals were being mailed and mind is already on its way.  They talked about even if you haven’t met the goal and won’t, if the challenge made you even slightly more cognizant of your movement then it was a success.  It was such a refreshing message!  Since tracking my miles, I’ve walked a lot more and have hit goals I wouldn’t have.  Sometimes, I overstressed about it but in October, I let it be.  I won’t make it.  However, I am proud of the work I put into it.  Before, I considered myself mildly active.  Once I started tracking and using my Misfit Shine, I was plumb shocked at how little I would move around.  There were some days, weekends mostly, where I would barely reach .5 miles, FOR THE ENTIRE DAY!  EEK!  I don’t have kids or a significant other so I am free to do my own thing, which has good and bad results.  Not moving much is one of the negatives.  When I see this happening, it makes me get off of my tushy and do something about it.  The challenge is/was worth it.

2,016 in 2016

Yep, I signed up again for 2016 to see what I can make of it.  Figuring out the math ahead of time, it’s about 5.5 miles per day – much more manageable.  Join me!  Now, I am happy with what I can get done for this year and looking forward to seeing what I end up with.  I recommend the challenge – running/walking/elliptical count for the miles.  I included all of my intentional miles, which was up for quite the debate on the fb group.  Whatever, I didn’t listen to them since as previously mentioned, I can seriously sit around!  It’s my journey.

Leave a Reply

