ice, ice baby

13 Nov

C’mon, we all knew this title was coming considering I’m currently bewitched by ice.  Besides, if Vanilla Ice can rip off the tune-age, surely I can “borrow” his song title.

creepy and funny

The ice thing… it’s peculiar.  Let me first start with I’m so happy I’m obsessed with ice rather than pica cravings.  Dirt is one of them.  Although, if I was craving huge spoonfuls of dirt, I probably would’ve gone to see a doctor, which still might be advisable.

Brief (sort of connected) story:  when we were little, my brother and I encouraged this little girl who was always at our house to eat a GIANT spoonful of sand.  We didn’t shove it down her throat, it was more of a dare, so not completely our fault.  We also dared her to lick a slug once.  I know we sound like terrible tyrants but she was a mean little kid.  She dropped our puppy from the top of a slide and poor Muffy had a concussion.  The image of Muffy bleeding still pulls on my heartstrings so I give little mind to the dirt and slug business.

she shouldn’t have hurt Muffy

Okay, back to current day… the ice situation has intensified, even since I last mentioned it.  It’s been going on for a solid month and half now.  It started off as a cup with a lot of ice and about 1/2 full of Sierra Mist.  I don’t like drinking regular pop but the world is against diet sierra mist/diet 7 Up/diet gingerale – at least in pop machines.  I realized I rather enjoyed the ice after I drank the pop.  The next day, same scenario but less pop.  The day after, who needs pop?!  It was all ice from there.

I’m at the point now where I am planning my day around how, when, where I can get some ice.  We have a fridge ice machine in our main office but the ice tastes funky if not in a flavored beverage (i.e. in my other love, coffee).  So this is out.  I have a main place I get it and when I do, I get multiple cups filled to the brim so I can have it for later.  Of course now there is my personal ice machine.  I eat A LOT of ice in a day my friends.

this is what I would look like as a blob one-eyed person

I am almost a week into my new iron supplements.  I have a feeling, even if the crazy ice need subsides, some of it has/will become habitual.  When I dislocated my thumb 8 years ago, I was in a cast for 8 weeks.  I still do certain things the same way as when I had to modify actions to accommodate my beast of a cast.  But I’m hoping the whole planning my day around ice abates.  I am not a very patient person, so I want results now.  Last night I had another almost passing out moment so it seems the iron needs a bit of encouragement.  Go iron pills go!  And dad, you should probably start making some ice now for my impending holiday visit!

Leave a Reply

