stream of consciousness – this is how my conversations go, too

21 May

Yesterday morning, I woke up EARLY and even got out of bed to do a mini workout.  Yes, I did a double take in the mirror as well.  When the alarm clock went off at 6:15 am and then again at 6:30 am, I was fairly determined to go back to sleep.  I grabbed my phone and went through some facebook and e-mail and then I was awake (well, sort of).  Again… should I get up?  Sleep for another hour?

I had an early morning meeting and needed to get a few things ready for it.  So, I actually got out of bed and did some burpees, butterfly sit-ups, planks, some other ab thingy and push-ups.  It didn’t take too long but it definitely woke me up further.  I have no idea if this will become a habit but I can see the appeal.  Yesterday was rest from running and coming home from work and not having to think about an impending work out was nice.

This weekend, I completely failed my breasts.  I’m not kidding.  I totally disregarded my advice from Monday.  I ran on Sunday evening at 8:30 pm when it had finally cooled to a nice breezy 83*.  I had been rearranging my furniture all day and I didn’t feel like changing from my older/slightly too small sports bra and didn’t think it would be that much of an issue for a short run.  Oh silly, silly Amy!  Once again, HEED MY ADVICE!  I did get the run finished though, despite the heat (and chaffing).  I was also wearing the white t-shirt that I had on all day and by the end of the run, it was a disaster.  My vacuum cleaner exploded a bit earlier in the day, moving the furniture, an unfortunate incident with a very squirty orange and then the run.  I probably should simply burn the shirt!

yep... this is how it went

yep… this is how it went

Other than that, I rested up on Saturday.  I got 4 runs in this past week!  I am very proud of myself.  My “getting my sh*# together” plan is working!  The apt overhaul is also underway.  I moved all of the furniture around yesterday and I’ve created some distinguished living spaces.  I now have a living room that is separated from the kitchen by my couch and a shelf (acting as a couch table).  There are a few tight-ish traffic spots but overall, it really adds to the illusion of space.  Pics coming soon!

There is still more to do.  Organizing, throwing away, giving away and selling some of my stuff.  A friend is helping with the selling part so all I have to do is take pictures and she will take care of the rest.  Funny enough, I can now see the changes coming together so it doesn’t feel as daunting and I am more interested in putting forth the effort.  Thankfully, when I moved everything around, it ended up looking like the image in my head – YAY!  Midway through, I was thinking I was going to have to move everything back or it wasn’t going to fit.  Needless to say, I did a little jig!

Oh my gosh… I’m a bit gif crazy – see ya later alligator

3 Responses to “stream of consciousness – this is how my conversations go, too”

  1. kmhoho May 21, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

    So proud of you!!!! I knew you could do it!!! Can’t wait to see the apt all dolled up! :) I’ve started running in the morning with Norah and the dog. It’s more logistical work but so worth it to not have to workout at night. :)

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva May 21, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    I am glad that you got in some great runs. Can’t wait to see some apt reveal pics!

  3. Running for the Prize May 22, 2013 at 5:59 am #

    Winning the battle against the bed is never easy for me. But then I think of collapsing so close to my goal cause I wanted more sleep. Like a teacher in high school told me “you can sleep when you’re dead”

Leave a Reply

