new running skirt & the dentist

30 May

Today has some entertaining business for you so hopefully you will enjoy…

First off, RUNNING talk!

Monday was the kick off for the RW Run Streak and it was mighty hot here in Kzoo as I mentioned.  What I didn’t mention was I woke up EXTREMELY grumpy on Monday.  Oh yeah, and bloated thanks to some bacon and other unwise salty choices during the weekend (and the heat).  It wasn’t pretty.  It also made me even more grumpy.  I waited until it cooled down a smidge, about 8:30 pm or so and headed out in my tempos… which felt tight.  Then they rode up the whole 1 mile run – awesome.  I hate it when my shorts ride up!  It brings back bad memories of being a chubby bunny and makes me feel super self-conscious.  I walked 2.5 miles after the 1 mile run and it broke my spirit a bit.  Uh, no, I didn’t take a pic…

Tuesday, I went down and bought a new running skirt so if the little shorts rode up at least no one would see.  I bought the Brooks Women’s PR Running Mesh skirt and took it for a spin last night.  Major difference!  I rocked 4 miles and then walked one mile home.  Yes, it was a few degrees cooler but the shorts didn’t ride up and I as able to run embarrassment free!  Even a bit faster than normal!  Am I really that shallow that I can’t have a good run if I have a wardrobe malfunction?!  Why yes, I am.  It’s one thing to have the junk in the trunk doing a dance for all to see but when everything feels off I am one cranky camper.  Brooks thank you for allowing me to “Run Happy

this is the color I got as well – it makes my pasty skin look a bit tan :)

The little shorts have some rubber on the inside to keep them from riding up and it comes in a few different colors.  It’s not super cheap – $50 but since it is getting HOT here it’s worth it in order to a) enjoy my run and b) actually go out and run.

Today I went to the dentist.  I spend quite a bit of time at my dentist – my teeth are not the strongest and I have decent dental insurance so I’m lucky enough to be able to fix some of the issues I have.  Oh yeah, and I had my tongue pierced when I was in college.  Giant mistake… and a costly one since we think it has contributed to some of my back teeth weakening – super fun!  Today I had to go in for a crown on one side and a biopsy – got one or two stitches – on the other side of my mouth.  Ummm… PAINFUL!  Wowzers – I forgot how much crowns hurt!

I tried to smile but I have a HUGE fat lip! this is in the dentist’s bathroom – the swelling is getting a bit worse but I’ll manage

While I was all numbed up and on the nitrous oxide I realized what a scene this was – with all of the tools, my mouth wide open, drills and whatnot and I said the following:

Me:  If aliens saw this they would think it was really weird…  I bet they wouldn’t even land…

Yeah… the dentist and hygienist laughed but I am sure they turned the knob down on the gas!  They already think I am a bit crazy anyways considering where they cut off the skin in my mouth I tried to remove it once before on my own.  Yeah, doing your own “mouth surgery” is not recommended and I understand why!  Please just trust me!  I’ve taken some painkillers (okay about 50) and realized I needed to rest.  Tomorrow is going to be kind of painful :(

p.s. the spider is still there… now I really need to figure something out!

11 Responses to “new running skirt & the dentist”

  1. Kara May 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Love the new skirt – super cute!!! And your fat lip looks much better than it feels I’m sure. If you didn’t point it out, I wouldn’t have noticed – swear!

  2. Boise Runner (@RunInBoise) May 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    dentist visits are never fun. but at least you have a cute skirt to run your next run in. I like my one brooks skirt that i have.

  3. Karen May 30, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Great minds think alike!! I too bought a new running skirt to go along with the numbness from my three fillings in my mouth!! Must be a Michigan thing today!! I have to have my whole mouth numb for a cleaning!! I haven’t used the nitrous yet, but I feel it coming soon. Thanks for the tweet today too!!

  4. Nikki May 30, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh my goodness..I hope your mouth and teeth feel better ASAP! At least you have a cute skirt to make you feel better!!

  5. Tasha @ Healthy Diva May 30, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    That first picture is absolutely hilarious!! I almost spit out my drink. Seriously, how do people come up with such funny things?!
    I love Brooks. Like really love Brooks. I have worn their shoes since 2002 and now most of my wardrobe is Brooks. It’s great stuff!
    Have fun with the streaking! :-)

  6. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts May 31, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    Bahaha, that comment in the dentist’s office is just classic – I bet they did indeed turn the gas down! I hope you’re feeling better though, that doesn’t sound fun at all.

    Glad you got a skirt too, I’ve never run in one but now I’m intrigued!

  7. Meghan Rene May 31, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Gross – the dentist! Super cute skirt – that ecard seriously made me LOL! I legit have thought this during a run before bahahaha. Cute skirt.

  8. Megan@ Run Like a Grl May 31, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    What a cute skirt, I love it . I recently got into running skirts and bought a few from Lulu that I am obsessed with. So worth it though, they are great!

    I love the alien comment haha SO funny!

  9. Meagan @ Managing Meagan May 31, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Cute skirt!!!! And, GOOD LUCK with the RW Run Streak !!!

  10. runwithmeg May 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I cannot say enough how much I love those brooks skirts. I bought one and sale and immediately went back and bought another even though I had to pay full price for the second.

  11. Jan Scott (@janscott75) May 31, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Love the new skirt! I tried one but it doesn’t hang right so I’m returning it. I’ll have to look for the one you posted. I’m doing the RW streak too…hoping to make it!

Leave a Reply

