voodoo good luck and a slumbbah pahty!

29 Dec

So yesterday I went for a run.  I got up early(ish) and was out running within a half hour.  This is huge for me.  In order to ensure this success, I went to sleep in half of my running clothes the night before.  I am always especially proud of getting of my tukus when I am home for vacation and running.  One small feat for many, one GIANT one for yours truly!

The run sucked.  Can’t sugar coat it any further – I ended up only running half and walking the rest.  I wasn’t very pleased with myself but I WAS happy I actually got out there.  Not to mention, I got to use my beautiful new Garmin!  Yay!  It works like a charm and is very simple to work with.  Considering all of my electronics have jumped ship lately, I cast a special voodoo charm to ensure its long life.  We’ll see how it works.

hopefully my carefully "researched" voodo good luck charm will keep this baby functioning for YEARS!

hopefully my carefully “researched” voodoo good luck charm will keep this baby functioning for YEARS!

I’ve decided to sleep in my running clothes again tonight as well as make some coffee to have ready before nighty-night time.  This should guarantee maximum readiness (and I’ll be less likely to come up with an excuse not to go!).

Last night was our regular “slumbbah pahty”, a.k.a. slumber party.  When my niece was younger, this was how she said it and this is what we’ve called it ever since.  She is now 18, which equals many a sleep over!  First up, errands with my dad where I got a delightful new running jacket (part of my Christmas present) and a nifty new sweater.  These were purchased at Costco.  Have I told you how much I heart Costco?  In case I haven’t, I really do.  A lot.  From there it was onward to my sister’s where we crafted a DELISH dinner!  Cauliflower rice (yes, this is exactly what it sounds like) with orange chicken stir-fry.

I can't even begin to tell you how big this pan of goodness was!

I can’t even begin to tell you how big this pan of goodness was!

We jammed packed this sucker with veggies!  I was pretty doubtful about the cauliflower “rice” but it was really good!  My BIL eats paleo and he made it.  It was also filling – another surprise!  Next was MOVIE TIME!  Also a tradition!!   We watched “Pitch Perfect” and I loved it!  I may have even rewound the last scene to watch it again!  To round out the night, there were a few episodes of “New Girl” and I have no idea why I haven’t been watching this on a regular basis.  She is ME!

slightly distracted by my phone BUT I was having a blast!

slightly distracted by my phone BUT I was having a blast!

Today we rounded out the slumbbah pahty with a yummy pizza lunch with my dad and then out to see “The Hobbit”.  I really liked it!  This whole vacation I have soaked up loads of movie time with fam and it has been such a treat!  My fam and I have always loved movies so it’s been fun.

Oh goodness!  Yesterday, my mom’s bestie made me a sparkle skirt for the marathon!  It’s adorable!  I absolutely love it!  I followed the tips from Healthy Diva and recommend checking it out!

jazz hands - in skirt form

jazz hands – in skirt form

Last, the treadmill is a no-go… at least for now.  I’ve decided to save up for it to make sure I REALLY want it.  I’m known for making hasty purchases since when I want something I tend to want it NOW!  I appreciate all of the advice.  I do think I would like one before the sweatiness of summer.  I would much rather run in the cold than in the humidity so I should take advantage of the outdoors for as long as possible.

Only a couple more days of vacation left!  Sad face…

2 Responses to “voodoo good luck and a slumbbah pahty!”

  1. kmhoho December 29, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Glad you’re enjoying vacation so much!!!!! :)

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva December 29, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    I have also slept in my running clothes before for some reason it makes the morning so much easier! Sorry your run didn’t go as planned, but at least you were out there. That counts for some kudos!

    I love Costco too- it is amazing! I always go in needing only a couple of things and manage to spend no less than $500. How does that happen?!

    Your skirt looks FAB!!!!! Great job! I can’t wait to see pictures of you in it at your race.

Leave a Reply

