Injuries are the pits

15 Dec

This Fall I have suffered the most injuries I have ever had.  While I don’t have pictures to document them all, here is a list:

piriformis syndrome in my left bum

pulled arch in my right foot

left hip popping out-of-place

GIGANTIC blister on right foot

Some VERY unfortunate chaffing!  (Aren’t you glad I didn’t take a pic of this!)

Apparently a half roll of athletic tape makes all of your owies go away

Here’s the deal.  Almost two years ago, I started training for my first half marathon.  It was definitely exciting and I found two awesome running partners as soon as I joined the training group.  Training went well but I failed to stretch after each long run.  I just really didn’t think I needed to.

Ooooo, let's give the non-stretcher dumb girl a shiny medal!

Training started in the middle of January.  I think it was around the middle of March that my left bum really started hurting.  I would feel it in the beginning of the run and then I could work it out as the run continued.  The aftermath wasn’t so pretty.  I would be limping around for days.  Part of me just chalked it up to running long distances and of course I would be sore kind of mentality.

I'm in pain but I'm still running - weeeeeeeeeeee!

I thought I had pulled a muscle in my bum.  Turns out I had piriformis syndrome – self/internet diagnosed of course!  I was told that I HAD to start stretching or it was going to get worse.  Yep, I was completely stupid.  I started stretching but it really didn’t get much better.  I made it through the half marathon  but there was always a nagging pain.

Really, I am running

I ended up taking some time off from running (story for another post).  In May, I decided I was tired of not having a regular running routine.  I missed it.  I started running again and as Fall approached I had signed up for a handful of 5k’s, a 10k, a 1/2 marathon and a 10 mile race.  I don’t feel the number of races were a problem but I was running long distances on the weekends but not supporting it with quality mileage during the week.  The piriformis started up again, I pulled my arch and then I ran the hardest race of my life, The Headless Horseman 10 miler

I was a cat lady for Halloween - it was a real stretch for me

Oh my gosh.  This was a night race through a golf course.  It was PITCH black outside with very little lighting.  The entire course was just a roller coaster of hills that felt like 90* angles.  By the end of the race, I thought I had taken a wrong turn and almost started crying because I thought I would never finish.  To make matters worse, you had to do the course twice to make the 10 miles.  It was horrifying.  After this, my hip started popping out-of-place when I was running.  I felt like I was 80 years old.

So, time to change my form!  I started working on my form a couple of weeks back.  I’m a heel striker and I am trying to change this.  It takes A LOT of concentration.  Last week I almost ran INTO a car!  But my hip pain is definitely getting better.  Today, I went out for an easy 2.5 mile run and while my bum made its presence known, my hip stayed in place the whole time.  I consider this a win.  Then I came home and had some quality time with Bruce.

Yes, my personal life is a disaster

Learn from my mistakes!  I still hate stretching but I would have saved myself a lot of pain, bad runs and may not have prematurely aged my body if I had just taken the time to do it in the beginning.  My other mistake was thinking “of course I can run 10 miles during the weekend even though I only ran 3 miles during the week”.  This was just sheer ego talking.  Again, I have learned my lesson and have reined in my training a bit.  I am not that type of runner who can break out mileage without really working at it.  Now back to the training drawing board!

One Response to “Injuries are the pits”

  1. Zoraida Detterich January 11, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    Utterly composed subject matter, Really enjoyed reading through.

Leave a Reply

