Christmas

28 Dec

I know this isn’t a very creative title but I wanted to talk a bit about Christmas.

Christmas morning

Of course this was a hard Christmas.  This will be the last Christmas where we could ALMOST believe that things were normal.  The house is completely decorated and mom was the driving force behind this.  Dad most likely will not do as much in the future although Heidi and I have already said we will come and help with this.  Mom had also done some shopping before she passed so we had the little “special” presents that her and my dad had picked up throughout the year.

See the Santa present in the forefront of the picture?  Mom ordered Dad a present months back without him knowing and it came while he was out running errands.  It’s a bat house and handmade by someone my mom knew.  A single brown bat can eat a 1000 mosquitos in ONE HOUR!  Bats are a great natural pesticide and we live by a huge pond = perfect gift.  This was pretty emotional for us and Dad had no idea it was under there for him.  Kevin wrapped it up special and even made a homemade cardboard box for it :)

My mom and dad have given me some kind of frog prince every year for Christmas for the last few years.  Needless to say, my mom was hoping I would find MY OWN frog prince in the near future.  The subtle hints had started about grandchildren and this is this year’s contribution to the collection.  It’s fantastic and unfortunately, it could be the last one.

Some day my prince will come

Also in the packages were things I had asked for, a Ragnar sweatshirt – yay! – some sourdough yeast from King Arthur that you have to feed and keep alive (I know, I’m nervous) and I am now officially part of Team Sparkle!  I knew mom would love the skirts when she saw them and they got me matching stripped socks.

FEEEEEED MEEEE! (can you name what movie this is from?!)

Can't wait to run in this puppy!

My mom also made my niece and I purses.  They are really cute and my niece started crying when she opened it, which of course made the rest of us start to cry.  We had a few emotional moments and then tried to pull it together.

My niece and I got the same one. Super cute, eh?

I also received some snow traxx, which I am really excited for, a cute lil’ charcoal bbq (it’s orange and matches my car!  Yes, these things are VERY important!) and few other gifties.  Both my brother and sister always get me really cool things and this year was no different.  A beautiful silver bracelet from Kevin (from Cambodia – I know, he has the unfair advantage of giving cool exotic gifts!) and Heidi got me awesome silver apple and pear sculptures for my apt.

Christmas Eve, we went to church before going to my grandma’s house.  The funeral was announced in the beginning and I lost it.  Her name was mentioned again during the prayers of the faithful so it really made mass hard for the whole family.  Later that night, my dad and I got to officially meet Kevin’s girlfriend, Sabrina.  She has the best French accent ever, is really sweet and brightened our night.  We all are going to New York in a month to meet her in person and also attend Kevin’s show (Kevin is a professional photographer).

Heidi and her family came in at 11 am on Christmas morning and her hubby, Sean cooked us all breakfast.  We also opened gifts from each other.  This was the first time we had done this and it was really nice.  We tried to keep upbeat attitudes but the absence of my mother was a huge void.  It was super rainy and windy out and the gloom just magnified this for me.  All in all it was a good day but tough and although it is totally cliché, we do all appreciate each other more.  We are quicker to forgive the little annoyances and we have a better understanding of how fleeting life really is.  Yep, it sucks that it took this tragedy to help us realize it but maybe that was our mom’s gift to us – each other.

3 Responses to “Christmas”

  1. Kara December 28, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Seems like your Mom gave you a wonderful Christmas! I’m glad you were able to enjoy it with each other! :) Love you!

  2. Aaron December 28, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Amy, you’re a very good writer!

  3. Sid Sandridge January 11, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness for your publish is simply nice and i can think you are a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with impending post. Thank you one million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

