Aside

my lackluster love life… fodder for entertainment

15 Dec

More entertainment for all of you!  We can discuss my (not so great) love life.  Sometimes my (lack of a) love life bothers me but lucky you, today is not that day.

Image

So, when I was a wee young thing, I always swore I wasn’t going to get married until I was 30.  I have no idea where this came from but I wasn’t joking around.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want a family – quite the opposite.  But I think even when I was a youngster, I knew that I wanted to take a different path.

Now, fast forward a couple of years and I have reached and passed 30.  As I may have mentioned before, I’m a bit of a late bloomer and relationships always seem overly complicated for me.  I don’t know how or why – am I a poor communicator?  Do I lack confidence?  Is there something wrong with me?

Image

These are usually the questions I ask myself when I am going through (what is very similar to teen angst) men troubles.  What it boils down to though is TIMING.  What a beast.  I never really realized just how crazy important timing really was/is.  Maybe I’m not ready for a relationship.  Maybe he isn’t.  Maybe life situations are complicated.  Whatever the obstacle was/is has resulted in me not quite finding Mr. Right as of yet.

source

source

So, what am I going to do about it?  I’ve finally decided I’m going to do the online gig.  Yep… I am crazy nervous.  I have recently read some major horror stories about online dating.  Men that don’t exist, men that are jerk faces – the stories seem to continue.  Once the floodgate has been opened – WHOOOOSH – all I hear are the negative stories.

well, makes me feel a little better...

But I do have friends who have met their significant others online and it’s working out very well.  One friend said it to me this way, “it’s just like meeting someone in a bar – it’s just a different avenue initially”.  Gotcha… well, that helps.  But I’m different.  I often feel like Murphy’s Law incarnate.  Not to mention, my previous dating hasn’t gone all that great and I am starting to wonder if my man really was hit by a truck

The other part that makes me nervous is remember the aforementioned subject of timing?  Yeah, well, my timing sucks.  As in completely plumb terrible!  So, I have this feeling of impending doom.  Or at least a feeling of impending craziness.  I’m not sure I am ready for it!  People always say, “no, this is the fun part!”  Umm… no, I’ve done it… a lot.

84301824245232390_5JXa3dlu_cThere you go… the adventure will begin after the New Year.  If any of you have advice for me, I would love to hear it.  If you know of a positive story, I would really like to hear that too.  I could also use a bit of a boost.  I am pretty sure the cartoon below depicts me quite well so this whole online dating thing is going to be interesting.

tumblr_lvfinsovXa1qhlsrfo1_500

source

I’ll keep you posted – especially if there is any entertainment value!

awkward life

8 Responses to “my lackluster love life… fodder for entertainment”

  1. Lisa Jameson December 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    i can soooooooooooooooo relate to this post. Heres the deal- i’m 28 and never had a “real relationship” (i guess till recently, but he’s long distance so we’ll disregard) I started online dating at 25 and I’ve been on a lot of dates. I have had 2 bad experiences, but a lot of positive ones. Although I didn’t meet “the one” online, it taught me sooooooooooo much about what I want, but more importantly, what are potential red flags and what I don’t want. I highly recommend not meeting someone the first week you start emailing, really make an attempt to get to know them a bit before a meet up. Your time is valuable and you want to make sure its not wasted ;)

  2. kmhoho December 15, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    You have no control over timing or the personalities of the other guys. So focus on what you CAN control – you!! How you go into a date, your expectations, what you’re looking for, etc. And have fun!! You may meet the guy of your dreams, or you may not – no way to know. So have fun meeting new people and enjoy the experience !

  3. Tasha @ Healthy Diva December 15, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    My co-worker is doing match and she has met some pretty great guys from it. She still hasn’t met the “one”, but she hasn’t had a bad experience. One guy was a little too attached to her too soon, but that can happen to anybody even without match. Good luck and just be yourself. :-)

  4. Hannah December 16, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    I’d just like to say I met my boyfriend on eharmony and we’ve been together 2.5years now and have just (as in yesterday) moved in together and I honestly can’t think of life without him. I preferred eharmony coz they only send you your matches and you can only see the people who you are matched with so if you’re a bit freaked out about your profile being ‘out there’ for anyone to see (like I was) then is go with eharmony. It also means that you’re only starting conversations with someone who you’ll have something in common with! Good luck, online dating isn’t the weirdo thing it used to be and at the end of the day if you meet someone special who makes you happy then what does it matter where you met them?!

  5. Meagan December 17, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Hey– you know it worked for me (even if it is my least favorite part of the story). The Hubs may been the world’s biggest goof, but I’m grateful each day that we found each other… even if it was online.

    TRY it. You never know what may come from it. Try to go into it with an open mind and an open heart. Life has a funny way of working out for the best.

  6. livehalffull December 20, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Hey girl! I nominated you for a Liebster award-details on my blog! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

