weekly round up

(Title change for my Monday round ups…)

Last week.  To get the majority of the whining out of the way – the first part sucked.  I was sick M/T/W.  As in doubled over at my desk while my stomach cramped so hard and wishing I didn’t eat whatever harmful thing that was causing it (okay, the salsa was a good starting point).

Wednesday night as I laid on the couch for the third night in a row, I realized this wasn’t going to go away anytime soon.  I was going to have bad weeks and good weeks but I need to pull it together a bit.  See, part of me is just bored with these diets.  But they aren’t so much “diets” as much as life changes so I had better get used to it.  And adhere to them.  It was a good pull-myself-up-from-my-bootstraps pep talk.

The next eve, I got on the ‘mill.  I managed 3 miles.  The other epiphany I had on Wed night was I’ve been holding back with my pace and running duration while on the tready.  I’m not pushing myself enough and it’s time to change that.  The 3 miles weren’t magical by any means but Dr. Ascot did say exercise would help the tum-tum so I need to at least try to help myself where I can.

exercise is supposed to help this…

Friday was another sickly day but I still crawled 2 miles.  Saturday I had a much better 3 miles and Sunday’s 3 miles were okay as well.  An old ankle injury has been a-barkin’ so I’ve started some ankle strengthening exercises, applying some heat to it and using compression.  I’ve also brought out the RockTape and just recently found a good way to tape my ankle up to help.  Oh and some BioFreeze because that stuff rocks.

I found some of the rehab info, along with the video from this blog – thanks Fitness Cheerleader!

Get this – Saturday and Sunday I did my experiment!  I worked out in the morning after some coffee and this was a good decision.  Yay me!

I won’t be running 4 days in a row anymore.  I think the sweet spot is three days.  Maybe once I hit higher mileage on my running days I can shorten it to 4 days a week as right now I’d like to run 5 days.  We’ll see.  Today I’m resting up and then I’m going for a Tues (5 miles), Wed (4 miles) and Thurs (3 miles).  I’m not going to swim until the weather temps are out of the single digits.  I’m a wimp.

I also had pizza this weekend!  This is beyond exciting!  I went to Blaze where they have gluten-free crust and it was tasty.  Pizza Hut has gluten-free (not in all areas including mine) and Domino’s does as well but it’s kind of expensive.  I went looking for some gluten-free thick crust recipes on Pinterest because all the gluten-free crusts I can find in stores/restaurants are thin crust.  The crust is my favorite part – wait – and the cheese.  It is a bit more complicated to make that’s for sure.  I might just get the pizza crust from Pillsbury and lay it thicker in the pan.  Maybe success?

this doesn’t even start to express my pizza love

I also found out I love blueberries.  I never knew I liked eating them by the handfuls – just thought it was in the baked goods.  Overall, I’m happy I got 4 days of work outs in and made some wiser food choices toward the end of the week.  And I went to Costco.  My friend had never been so as we walked in this is what I sang:

TRUTH

Leave a comment