marathon slump

18 Sep

Writer’s block… it’s a real thing.  The last few days I haven’t really known what to write.  My brain is full.  Or I’ve used it all up – it really could be either one.  Or I am driving myself mad overanalyzing everything in my life and have completely lost focus.  More than likely it’s this last one but saying I’ve used all of my brain power up makes me sound like a really smart scientist.  Or something.  Whatever.

I’ve had some mixed workouts these last few days.  Saturday, I had a 10k, the Peacock Strut.  This was my very first 10k back in the day and is probably my favorite.  It has a homegrown feel, I like the course and everyone always seems super happy to run.  You start in a neighborhood and then hit the Celery Flats, which is a nice path to run here in Kzoo.  To understand how small it is, know this was the first year they had a starting timing mat – usually someone just yells, “GOOOOOO!”.

I love my peacock strut shirts!

I did it in 1:02ish (maybe 1:03) but the course was long so not entirely sure.  I did feel good about my 10:00 pace per mile though and know I started out at the beginning somewhere in the 8:50 range.  Oh yes, I need to slow my roll!  What was I thinking?!  I quickly felt this in the second mile when suddenly I was running at a 10:45 pace.  I pep-talked my way back down and pushed it for all 6.2.  The cool thing is I’ve done this race for the last 5 years so I was able to see my times.  Last year, I did a 1:04 (I had no idea I was in better shape this year – yay!) but two (or three) years ago I did it in 56 mins!!  What the hay?!  I seriously did not know this was my best time for a 10k!  I always thought my best was a 58, which was the year before the 56.  I am super impressed with my little self and am determined to get back under one hour.  I know I am making speed progress with all of the speed workouts we do outside of crossfit workouts.  I’ve also gotten better with the mental aspect – I remind myself if I can do 100 push ups then I can keep the running pace up.  I’m amazed at how much my mental game plays a GIANT role in my performance.  Damn mental instability!

I’m also playing around a bit with fuel and hydration.  I want to make sure I’m all set before I hit the San Fran streets.  The other day I choked down some Espresso Love.  I haven’t eaten GU in what seemed like forever and whoa – it was tough.  I’m not sure why it was so difficult!  This is usually my go to fuel source for races so I need to figure something out.

I did get the kick I needed though! I usually take half in the beginning of the race and then the other half as I am running… probably mental… oh yeah, we discussed that

So while I was pleased with my performance on Saturday, I have definitely hit a slump in marathon training.  I’m tired.  I feel kind of defeated.  I’m really questioning my training.  I’m questioning my ability.  I’m questioning my fitness.  I’m guessing this isn’t uncommon but it’s putting a damper on my marathon spirit.  Any suggestions on how to bring it back up?  This week I have an 8 mile TT (time trial) as well as a 10 mile TT and I am hoping these reawaken my “you love to run, legs!”  See where the mental game comes into play for me?  I took yesterday as a rest day but that seems to have made feel worse.  Sorry for the whining but I’ve been feeling this for the last couple of days and haven’t figured out how to snap out of it.  NEED SUGGESTIONS!

Tonight I talked with my partner in crime for the NWM 26.2.  She gave me some great advice, “You can only do your best (with the marathon) and it’s your first.  The experience is a form of training.”  It was the perfect thing to say!  It’s true.  I want to finish.  I know I can finish.  I can’t let the slump shake my confidence and beginning tomorrow I’m going to reinvigorate my training, spirit and attitude.

Oh and this bad boy?

I swear, it has some kind of disease.  During the race the my treacherous ipod decided to pause whenever it wanted to AGAIN!  I took it off after 15 minutes of trying to hit play every other 30 seconds.  I also purchased a shuffle but am hoping I can salvage this ol’ guy since it’s only been around for a year and half.

4 Responses to “marathon slump”

  1. rob September 18, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Amy – Here’s my suggestion. Head to Gazelle Wed to run with the Urban Herd and Olympian Kim Conley – sure to be an inspiring run and talk.

    Rob

    Run (and/or talk) with an Olympian!

    Gazelle Sports is thrilled to have New Balance athlete and USA Olympian in the 5000 meters, Kim Conley, running with the Kalamazoo Urban Herd on Wednesday, September 19 at 6 pm.

    After the run, Kim will talk about her Olympic experience and answer your questions.

    All are invited to run with the Urban Herd – Gazelle Sports’ weekly 2 – 6 mile group run offering varying paces. Or you can come down to Gazelle Sports at 7 pm for Kim’s talk.

  2. Larissa September 19, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Germy – YOU ROCK!! =) We all know it, and I wish you knew it too! I am so proud of all your hard work! Not only do you set a great example for friends with your healthy habits (cough cough, I need to follow your lead more often)…but you also maintain such an effective workout-life balance, it’s amazing! I’m always amazed by your dedication, passion, endurance, and downright ability….you amaze me! Now, you just gotta feel that too!

    I am beyond excited to hear allllll about the San Fran NWM – and beyond jealous that you’re going to be accepting a Tiffany necklace and chocolates from some hottie firemen (ahhh, swoon)! Think of it this way – you are gonna be the hottest gal running across that finish line; so in the coming weeks, channel your inner hottie goddess and just imagine those firemen along your training route (this could actually motivate me to get out and run, let alone enjoy running….so this has gotta work for your motivation….right?!?!)

    Love you…now, feel your power, and get out there and ROCK IT!!! <3

    ~L

  3. Kara September 19, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Here are some of my suggestions. Now, you can take them or leave them seeing as I haven’t run a marathon (or a half, or a 10K for that matter). But, I’m not sure if you already put your runs in your calendar like an appointment, with the number of miles you should do, and other goals. This will be really helpful I think for the last few weeks of training to really make sure you get in the miles you need to. I think having a plan will also help with your mental game. And this is easier said than done, but I think if you just tell yourself, “well I’m going to run this thing, so I have no choice but to train and do crossfit and do it” – then you will. Forget about motivational quotes and all that and just do it. Tell yourself you have no other option (because that’s true!). This helps me. A lot of times I DO have other options and so this little lying trick doesn’t work that good….BUT in your case, I think you can convince yourself its true. And it’ll work! Good luck!!! :)

  4. Tasha @ Healthy Diva September 19, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Don’t feel defeated. It is typical to feel like that while training for a marathon, just don’t let it get to you. You are doing awesome and you are fit. Just keep doing what you are and your marathon will be over before you know it. :-)

Leave a Reply

