take me out to the ball game!

26 Sep

I’m back!

On Monday, I was swept away for a work conference.  It was a whirlwind to get out of the door but I was really excited for this work opportunity.  We weren’t going far – Detroit, MI but it was still about 3 hours away.

While I won’t bore you with the details of the conference (I doubt it would be entertaining for others!) I will say, the absolute BEST part was they took us to a Tiger’s game!  Wahoo!

ROAR! welcome amy!

I have never been to a Tiger’s game!  I know, I know, I have lived here for 8ish years and have never made it.  Lame.  Now that I have been, it’s even more lame because it was SO.MUCH.FUN!  No, this wasn’t my first major league baseball game, I went to a Mariner game when I was about 10 or 12.  But this experience was way different.

before the game started – cool sky, eh?

First, the conference group gathered us together for a yummy catered dinner.  The two important things about this were a) they had free beer and b) my co-worker and I met this guy who was a vendor rep.  My friend said he was checking out my hands to see if I was wearing I ring and I said she was on crack.  (this would be foreshadowing)

Next, we headed over to the game where I bought my first Tiger’s hat.  I love a good baseball hat and I felt it was important to kind of look like I belonged!

this is my seat!

We hit up our seats, which were great!  We sat right below the giant screen.  I had made sure to save room for a ballpark hot dog at dinner since I had never had one at a baseball game before.  I felt this was important in my life list of “things to do”.  No, I am not kidding.

part of my new “infamous hot dogs” picture series!

Truth be told, I don’t know much about sports.  I mean, I know it’s called a home run and all that jazz but some of the rules/reasons behind things are completely over my head.  I sat next to a co-worker who could talk equal amounts girl talk and baseball talk.  Perfect combo.  I also got up to grab one of these gems

okay, crappy pic but you get the idea – very tasty

and saw the guy we met earlier.  Well, my friend was right.  He told me he would buy me my next vodka slushy (because of course, everyone NEEDS two of these!) and wanted to come see me later.  It was sweet but I dismissed it as the free beer from dinner talking and went back to my seat.

i’ve never been to a day game (obviously) but love night games! :)

The game was great and I completely think my “newbie” status helped to bring the Tiger’s glory and a WIN!  I had my tasty hot dog, my “friend” ended up buying me a beer, and then I had a couple of peanuts from conference attendees behind me, some popcorn from my co-worker next to me and some caramel corn.  Yeah… to say I was full is an understatement.  To say I had a fantastic time is also an understatement.  NEEDLESS to say, I will be going back!

free beer!

stop back tomorrow as I have a very important  question for both my male and female readers!

 

One Response to “take me out to the ball game!”

  1. Megan@ Run Like a Grl September 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Looks like so much fun!! Glad you got to go to your first baseball game.. that drink looks really good! And theres nothing like a ballpark hot dog, good choice!

Leave a Reply

